If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

User Name
Password
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   TrackShare.com > ATV General Discussions > ATV Track Kits

Old 10-23-2010, 10:23 AM

doonan64 is on a distinguished road
Honda Rancher 420

Im a newbie on this whole ATV thing. Im in the market for my first ATV. I'm also thinking of adding a pair of tracks to it. The dealer Im buying my ATV from has Tatou 4s for sale as well. The main reason Im buying an ATV is for Ice Fishing so going fast isn't important to me. Im wondering if the Rancher is big enough machine to handle tracks and not tear it up? After reading some things about Tatou 4s Im getting sceptical on them as well. Should I be sceptical? Thank you for the help.
Old 10-23-2010, 11:26 AM

PFXC will become famous soon enough
Lots of happy folks with the Tatou 4s - and a few who had problems that Camoplast seems to be dealing with. Yes, it took longer than most wanted, but still it's less than a year, and if they did good R&D its worth the wait. I have tracks from this spring, the "newer" plastic ones, we'll see how it goes this winter.

I can not yet speak from personal experience (other than using one once), just all the research I did before I purchased my setup this spring. I think a 5-600cc ATV should be OK as long as you are not in deep snow a lot, or pulling something. I went with Yamaha as I really like their drive system, and folks using them for what I am (grooming trails) feel they are the brand to go with. If I wasn't pulling something I would have gotten the Grizzly 550 (and I think perhaps I could have anyway...), but I went with the 700. It certainly does not lack power!